14 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2006 12:45 PM by cardinalsupport

How to get Vertical Scrollbar to show up for Panel

cardinalsupport Level 1
      Hi there, Im a Flex Newbie and am working on my first application for a client. I am having the hardest time getting a vertical scrollbar to work for a Panel control i am using. Here is the rundown:

1- I have an application control with layout set to horizontal
      2- I have a Vbox on the left with 2 panels on top of each other,
      3- I have a Panel on the right with a bunch of text controls one right on top of another.

the app looks like this. think of the spaced dashes and just spaces since this wont let me use spaces:

| ---------------| - - - - text - - - - |
      | - - - - - - - - -| - - - - text - - - - | - browser window ends here
      | - - - - - - - - -| - - - - text - - - - |
      | - - - - - - - - -| - - - - text - - - - |

MY PROBLEM: I would like the application to stay confined to the browser window and have scrollbars appear in the right Panel when the text controls have content that is too long for the browser window. Yet i cannot get it to work, ive tried using clipContent=true and enabling verticalScrollPolicy but nothing seems to make the Panel on the right contrain to the height of the browser window.

I have a feeling this is something really simple so any help would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!

best
      stephen
        • 1. Re: How to get Vertical Scrollbar to show up for Panel
          cardinalsupport Level 1
          NOTE: The Vbox and the Panels are all set to width="100%" and height="100%"
          • 2. Re: How to get Vertical Scrollbar to show up for Panel
            Josh Johnson Level 1
            So does your MXML look like this...

<mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="horizontal">
            <mx:VBox width="100%" height="100%">
            <mx:Panel width="100%" height="100%" layout="absolute">
            </mx:Panel>
            </mx:VBox>