3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2006 3:51 AM by Peter Lorent

bothering class

Level 7
      hi,
      although i have over 5 years of flash experience, only recently i've
      actually learnt how to use OOP, and began implementing code via classes in
      my projects.
      for examle, i have several different projects on my computer, all of them
      have in them more-or-less the same type of menu. up untill now, that menu
      was created (dynamically) inside a MC called 'menu', with the code for
      creating that menu found inside the 'menu' MC (to be honest - this sort of
      structure is inheritence i got from the previous flash programmer in my
      office...). so what i did, is create a class called 'menu', which recieves
      (together with other parameters) the MC into which the menu is created, and
      create that menu on the fly. i've placed that class file in a folder which
      i defined as a 'class path' (in the AS 2.0 settings in the IDE prefrences)
      so i won't have a different copy of it for every project.

i wrote all this down only so you'd understand the problem i've encountered:
      older projects which don't use the 'menu' class yet, but the old structure,
      and has no link what-so-ever to that class, when i publish them i get
      errors, for flash looks for methods and properties found in the 'menu' MC in
      the 'menu' class.
      let me try make things more clear: in the old projects, i have a MC called
      'menu', which has a function called 'menuBuild', and when i publish that
      project i get the following error: "There is no method with the name
      'menuBuild'." - which is a menthod of the 'menu' MC but not a method of the
      'menu' class! but as i said, that old project doesn't use that class at
      all!

if anyone understood my problem, i'd appreciate some explainations. in the
      meanwhile, my work-around for this, is before i publish old projects i