4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2006 1:29 PM by ntsiii

Component Question

AonSao
      Could anyone provide a simple example of using an ActionScript class as the default application in Flex... but still using Flex components? Or is this not possible?
        • 1. Re: Component Question
          peterent Level 2
          I'm not sure why you would want to do that, but you should be able to create a class which extends Application. Then override createChildren and create your components there - if you have MXML components, just treat them like any class and use the new operator. Just remember to give them width and height because they'll default to zero. You should also override measure and updateDisplayList to measure and position the component children.
          • 2. Component Question
            AonSao Level 1
            Thank you ^_^ I got that working!

I'm a bit new to this though... you mentioned that you don't know why anyone would want to do that. What is the easier way to handle this? I've been messing around with controlling program flow from an MXML application file... but I just haven't been able to get my actionscript display objects onto the stage. I'm animating sprites, shapes, and movie clips and I can't figure out how to get both those and MXML components on the stage at the same time.
            • 3. Re: Component Question
              peterent Level 2
              I meant I didn't understand why you would not want use an MXML file as your Application file? It would be easier to work with and you wouldn't have to override any functions.
              • 4. Re: Component Question
                ntsiii Level 3
                Per Gordon Smith, on this subject: