11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 20, 2015 3:28 PM by Nancy OShea

Fluid grid layouts blow up after viewing in phone size

P B Level 1

Hello,

I'm working on a site using fluid grid layouts in DW CS6.  The layout looked fine in Live view until I sized the window down to see how it would look in a phone size.  Then when I enlarged the window back up, the fluid grid layout appeared to be blown up with pieces everywhere.  Fortunately, it looked fine in the browser but can anyone tell me how to get Dreamweaver to re-acclimate to its own code and put humpty dumpty back together again after viewing in various sizes?

Any 'top  3' tips from experienced users on any topic for using fluid grid layouts would also be welcome.  I'm a newbie and have heard they can be quite temperamental.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Fluid grid layouts blow up after viewing in phone size
          osgood_ Level 8

Its a failed experiment from Adobe. Fluid Grids are no longer supported going forward and has been 'replaced' in Creative Cloud 2015 with Bootstrap. Fluid Grids are still available in the CC 2015 version but for how long is anyones guess - Adobe are sort of sweeping it under the carpet. You can still use Bootstrap in CS6 or any version of DW for that matter if you get it direct from the Bootstrap website. Its not my cup--of-tea but for anyone not wishing to learn the basics of reponsive web building its second best and its first best compared to Fluid Grids. My advice, if you're in this for the long haul , is to ditch Fluid Grids and learn Bootsrap or better still learn to write your own reponsive coding.

• 2. Re: Fluid grid layouts blow up after viewing in phone size
            P B Level 1

Wow, I paid $2000 for this Adobe software less than a year ago to do modern responsive web sites and apps... and FGLs have been... scrapped?

Boy, that's a kick in the stomach.