8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2015 8:26 AM by Kerrigan Marois

Importing XML

Kerrigan Marois Level 1

Hey everyone, I am brand new at importing xml and have been working diligently to come up with ways to be faster with my workflow. I work on a 100 page catalog 2x a year and currently copy/paste the info from xcel a few hundred times in order to complete the data.

Here is the skinny, I am writing an xml block in dreamweaver that looks like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>

<root>

<Aside>

Pertinent Info 

Testing Headline

Bacon ipsum dolor amet pork loin jowl reprehenderit, sirloin frankfurter non incididunt commodo shoulder short loin consectetur nostrud 
www.thingorilla.com 

Pertinent Info 
Testing Headline 
Bacon ipsum dolor amet pork loin jowl reprehenderit, sirloin frankfurter non          incididunt commodo shoulder short loin consectetur nostrud 

www.webaddress.com

</Aside>

</root>

I have the character styles built and used nested styles for my paragraph to format the text as this:

Pertinent Info

Testing Headline
      Bacon ipsum dolor amet pork loin jowl reprehenderit, sirloin frankfurter non incididunt commodo shoulder short loin consectetur nostrud
      www.webaddress.com

When I import the xml, I am selecting to remove whitespace elements to no avail, every tab and new line from the xml produces a tab or full carriage return and my nested styles are set up using forced line breaks...Needless to say, I'm quite stumped as to what I'm missing here. I know that I can include unicode for soft returns, but that defeats the purpose of automation if I have to include that 10k times.

I really appreciate anyone that can help me achieve this!

• 1. Re: Importing XML
          Kerrigan Marois Level 1

bump?

• 2. Re: Importing XML
            Kerrigan Marois Level 1

final bump.

• 3. Re: Importing XML
              joet082964 Level 3