8 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2015 5:38 PM by mikes88472535

lightroom catalog on portable hard drive

mikes88472535

lightroom catalog on portable hard drive

• 1. Re: lightroom catalog on portable hard drive
          Tanuj Sandal Adobe Employee

Hi mikes88472535,

Could you please let me know what help do you need with Lightroom Catalog.

Regards,

Tanuj

• 2. Re: lightroom catalog on portable hard drive
            mikes88472535 Level 1

I want to use LR on multiple computers but I have been advised against this because of slow network connections especially with video.  I am a dentist and we want to input photos into LR from different treatment rooms but this is not possible unless we have a portable hard drive which is impractical( we may as well just go to the one computer that has the catalog on it).  A network drive makes sense but the performance concerns me.  What do you think?

• 3. Re: lightroom catalog on portable hard drive
              ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Putting the catalog on a portable drive is a great way to share it between multiple computers since LR does not allow the catalog on a network drive.

You can  put the images on the portable drive, too, or put the images on the network drives.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: lightroom catalog on portable hard drive
                Tanuj Sandal Adobe Employee

You may keep the Catalog on an External Drive, however keeping the Catalog on a Network Drive is not recommended by Adobe.

• 5. Re: lightroom catalog on portable hard drive
                  DdeGannes Adobe Community Professional

For Lightroom to function it has to read and write to the Catalog File constantly. This cannot be performed over a wireless network, the drive which has the Catalog file has to be physically connected to the computer that is running the Lightroom application. Performance will be affected by the weakest link, i.e. the connection e.g. USB 2, USB 3, Firewire.