14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 10, 2010 9:42 PM by yakparis

Fireworks CS4 Does Not Start Up

Equisse
      I have been using Fireworks CS3 for over 1 1/2 years with no problems. I have the new Fireworks CS4 installed, and it will not load. The splash screen loads, but nothing initializes, and after a short period of time, the application closes and an support message pops up asking me if I want to send an error report to Adobe. I have sent the report several times. I have looked through the forum, and tried using the removal tool, reinstalled, but I still have the same problem. Photoshop CS4 and other CS4 applications load perfectly. Does anyone have an idea of how to solve this? In the mean time, I am back to using my old dependable Fireworks CS3.
        • 1. Re: Fireworks CS4 Does Not Start Up
          Equisse Level 1
          Okay, this is a follow-up post... I logged out of my main account, and logged in to my backup admin account. Fireworks CS4 works perfectly in the secondary account. I went back to my main account and closed all open programs, and tried opening up Fireworks CS4 again, but it did not complete the loading as I mentioned in my first post above.

Does anyone have any ideas? Anything would be helpful at this point, as Adobe does not seem to respond to my emails.

Thanks in Advance.
          • 2. Re: Fireworks CS4 Does Not Start Up
            heathrowe Most Valuable Participant
            Sounds like OS Adminstrative Preveledges for the account is limited, than mere an error with Fw not loading.

h
            • 3. Re: Fireworks CS4 Does Not Start Up
              Level 7
              I've seen the same thing with Fireworks launching and then crashing on
              the splash screen but it only happens occasionally for me. Do you find
              this happening every single time? What if you restart your machine and
              then launch Fireworks fresh? Still crashes? Your system meets the system