1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 27, 2009 6:29 AM by Newsgroup_User

newbie looking for advice

Clifford Meece
      Hi,
      I'm an advanced developer in other frameworks, but I am new to Flex. I've just finished the video series 'Flex in a week' and have some questions for more experienced developers.

One thing I noticed is that there seem to be several ways to do everything, so it is hard for me to decide on the 'best way' for a given problem. For example, one video talks about creating new components by essentially moving the constituent MXML components into its own MXML file for reusability. Later however, we are shown a way to extend components (adding a button to a formitem) using just ActionScript subclassing.

When would I choose one over the other?

Likewise, on the styling section, there appear to be at least 4 general approaches to changing the look of something. When would I customize using a programmatic skin, or since it appears the ui components can also draw, why wouldn't I just subclass the component and draw directly there? Or using inline styles, or attach a css style, etc etc.

I've started writing a proof of concept app so perhaps I could get some advice on the above topics for each of the hurdles I've come across so far?

I would like two text fields to appear in the main area of the application, like a drawing pane, perhaps a canvas or something derived from canvas. Imagine this like a very simple diagramming tool. I would like the user to be able to drag the textfields around the canvas. I want the two text fields to be connected via a bezier line.

What is the best way to implement dragging a component like this? Note, I am not dragging an element from one datagrid to another like so many of the examples illustrate.

Should the bezier line be drawn by the containing canvas? or by the textfield component (or subclass)?