4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2015 7:55 AM by KAREHN

File cannot be found?

mercedesnosleep

So I'm trying to edit some photos and it says file cannot be found.

I'm really new to this so sorry If I sound stupid.

I've looked for the folder but that seems to be miss as well 

• 1. Re: File cannot be found?
          dj_paige Level 9

This means your photo (or the folder that contains it) has been moved, renamed or deleted outside of Lightroom. You need to find the file on your hard disk somewhere, make a note of the exact file name and folder name, and then reconnect in Lightroom via these instructions: Adobe Lightroom - Find moved or missing files and folders, you can reconnect entire folders or an entire hierarchy of folders at once if needed.

• 2. Re: File cannot be found?
            sarsaxen Adobe Employee (Admin)

Hi mercedesnosleep,

One get such message only if Lightroom is not able to find the images,if you have deleted them or moved them to a different location.

Lightroom is just showing you a preview and exclamation mark denotes that the original file is missing.

• If you might have deleted them from your computer accidentally , please check system trash or recycle bin.
            • If you think that you might have moved them to a different location then Please note down the File names which are missing and try to find them in your system.
            • Once you know their new locations, come back to Lightroom and locate them.

Refer :https://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/help/locate-missing-photos.html

Regards

Sarika

• 3. Re: File cannot be found?
              mercedesnosleep Level 1

Well found out my bf deleted the original folder that was in my external hard drive.he was trying to organize my folders and simply didn't get that he shouldn't have deleted it. So now it's gone forever. Thanks anyways everyone.

Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S® 5, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

• 4. Re: File cannot be found?
                KAREHN Level 1