6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2015 2:42 PM by ECBowen

Who here is a creative who is sick of having to understand GPUs?

ekreidler Level 1

Hi -- I'm a motion designer who lives in Adobe Creative Cloud (and C4D), and I own:

- a Mac Pro with a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680

- a Windows machine with a NVIDIA Quadro 6K and a Tesla K2 (2012 MAXIMUS configuration -- whatever that means. All I know is I've always had to check "use unsupported GPU" in AE. Why would I have thought that NVIDIA's alleged flagship cards (at the time) would be supported by their partner Adobe?)

All of my GPUs are constant frustrations and disappointments. And all seem to be instantly out of date the second you buy them.

(oh yeah, and they're expensive)

Every trip to the NVIDIA web site makes me want to scream. SCREAM. SCREAM.

Imagine a world where Adobe (or Apple...or Maxon...or somebody) provided leadership on explaining how much VRAM you need, the pros and cons of x number of CUDA cores, etc, etc. and how it directly and specifically relates to your daily workflow across AI, PS, AE, Premiere, etc.

Right now I have to run AI CC2015 with GPU unchecked to avoid constant crashing. Awesome!

I get that Adobe hates Apple, but know that this war causes much pain.

I suppose I'll just have to go get that computer science / EE degree, and then maybe I'll know what computer and GPU(s) to buy.

Okay rant done for today. Happy Friday!

• 1. Re: Who here is a creative who is sick of having to understand GPUs?
          JFPhoton Level 3

...I have seen other posts where Mac users are having similar issues, even though their machines have adequate hardware. The consensus is that there is some problem between the Mac OS and  the Adobe software......see if you can find these posts and threads here on this forum.