10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2015 6:47 AM by Peter Spier

Rename link within Indesign

rossg66603674

Can anyone help. I have inherited a catalogue that has 1000s of products. Each product has its own image. These images are called allsorts of names - suppliers descriptions, suppliers part numbers, our descriptions, any old reference. This means finding or updating an image is really difficult. I am currently selecting each link, going to the link (to identify our part number), editing with Photoshop and saving with the items part number. Then relinking the image with the new name. The result is two images. I will then have to go through and delete all the old images. Is there a way to rename the link within In Design? The result being the same!

Thank you in advance!

• 1. Re: Rename link within Indesign
          rossg66603674 Level 1

I am an amateur user of InDesign, so if someone reads this and is an expert user but does not know of a way to do this, can you let me know that it is probably not possible. I need to crack on with this, but the prospect of 1 months work is not pleasant and am holding out for a quicker answer. If this answer is doubtful, I would be grateful to someone letting me know, then I can get some coffee down me and plod on!!!!

• 2. Re: Rename link within Indesign
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Not possible, as far as I know.

• 3. Re: Rename link within Indesign
              rossg66603674 Level 1

Thanks. Not what I wanted, but what I thought!!!!

• 4. Re: Rename link within Indesign
                BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

I’m going to guess this can be scripted. Check in the scripting forum.

• 5. Re: Rename link within Indesign
                  winterm Level 4

Marian Tompa's (Tomaxxi) script Link Rename claims it does exactly that - renames links from within InDesign.

Unfortunately, http://tomaxxi.com/ seems dead right now...