5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2007 7:50 AM by ajperrins

Robohelp Server Training

HollyAngell
      If this sounds naive, I apologize up front. I've been using Robohelp for the last 6 years to provide online help for several customer service departments in our company. Until last year, the files were chm accessed through the intranet. Last year, my company purchased a dedicated server for Robohelp and our troubles began in earnest. No one in our IT department knows anything about Robohelp or the Roboengine. They do know that they don't like it.

Robohelp Pro is my choice for most help files because of the natural language search and reports capabilities. When the server has trouble, the reps who rely on the help files have trouble. I can email chm files to them on an interim basis, but that is only a stopgap.

I want to learn everything I can about the server and the server requirements. When something goes wrong, I have to start with a different IT person and tell them all I know about publishing (which isn't much). Now to the point:

Is it impractical to want to get training on servers that hold Robohelp files?
      Where can I get the training? I only want to know about commands, permissions, etc that pertain to Robohelp so that I can figure out what has happened when my files won't publish or can't be accessed. I have come to believe that I will be happy only when I can look at the server and see all the files that IT sees and recognize what has happened.

Has anyone else had a similar wish or experience with this?

Thank you,

Holly
        • 1. Re: Robohelp Server Training
          brj311
          We've been using Robohelp X5 with a documentation server and a webserver for about a year and a half now. I understand your frustration with RoboEngine. It's a judement call on your part as far as training.