13 Replies Latest reply on Apr 3, 2009 1:34 PM by Tatious

Cursor and Button Assistance

Tatious
      Hi guys.... hope this the right place to post this stuff, I have two questions, but first some background -

I'm a student with basic (but growing) knowledge of flash, and for one of my projects I have to create a website in Flash CS3 (an actionscript 2.0 file) which will then be imported in to Dreamweaver and uploaded.

My two questions are -

1. I have made a custom cursor to use on my website, I found a tutorial that told me to do the following.

create a symbol that I wanted to use as my cursor, convert it to a movieclip named cursorNew_mc, insert it in to frame 1 of a new layer and name the instance cursornew and in the actions panel use the following script

Code:

Mouse.hide()
      startDrag(cursornew,true)

Now this works ALMOST perfectly, the cursor moves, I can click with it.... However, my custom cursor is out of synch positionally from where it should be, it rests just below where it should be, by maybe an inch on my screen. What would have caused this (please remember I am a beginner) and what could I do to correct??

2. My second question concerns connecting two .swf files together with a button in one of the .swf files. My lecturer showed me how to do this last week... In that say... 1.swf would include a button within the animation that when clicked would load 2.swf in its place. He showed us some code that I'm not able to access at the moment, but I believe I found it on another site, this is what i believe his code was (with the .swf name obv diff)

Code:

loadMovieNum("custom.swf", 0);

And he told us to click on the button, go to the actions panel and paste that code, obviously with the name of the movie we want instead of custom.swf. and that if both files were situated in the same folder there would be no need for the rest of the root address.