23 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2015 6:17 AM by jonasdr

Unit preferences keep changing.

jonasdr Level 1

Something is bugging me.
      I'm a designer working in Europe and I work with the default units in millimeters (that is the VERY first thing I do in the preferences pane after I have installed InDesign, with no documents open, so this should be set for life).

However, I often work with files provided by a US provider and this sets my Preferences to Inch. Not only for that document but it actually changes it for all next (even those made by myself set in millimeters) and new documents.
      Why is this and why does InDesign not remember that I have my preferences set to millimeters when opening a document that was made under the Inches setting? Am I missing something? Or is it a bug?

• 1. Re: Unit preferences keep changing.
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

I suspect some sort of configuration issue on your system. but what version of InDesign and OS? Ruler units should be document-specific, with your defaults preserved for new files.

• 2. Re: Unit preferences keep changing.
            jonasdr Level 1

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your reply.

I am using CC2015 and am working on Mac OS Yosemite.
            My collegues here ath the office experience the same issues. We all hace CC2015 and working on Yosemite. My boss however has OS El Capitan and he too is having the issue.

• 3. Re: Unit preferences keep changing.
              Michael Witherell Adobe Community Professional

The problem is that unit of measure is set per document; not application.

You might try pressing Cmd Opt Shift U (3 times to advance from Inches to Decimal Inches to Millimeters to Centimeters).

Or maybe a script would help faster:

http://partners.adobe.com/public/developer/en/indesign/sdk/WorkingWithDocumentsJS.pdf

The script you need is shown on page 12 of this older javascripting PDF.

• 4. Re: Unit preferences keep changing.