2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2006 11:55 PM by DCG2

SWF in Firefox

DCG2
      Hi all,

I'm a student at The Art Institute of Portland. For an Intro to CBT class, I decided to use Captivate for my first project. (With no regrets -- I love the program and plan to purchase it.)

Here's a truncated version of the project:

http://www.greatchurchwebsites.org/GIMP/GIMP_tutorial_test.htm

(truncated to save forum members download time).

There's a lot to be done on the project to improve it, which I'll be working on, but here's the problem about which I am writing:

In Firefox on the Mac and PC, the exit button at bottom right on the Flash skin does not work. Moreover, the Control/Command Tab does not work (when the movie is playing) to create a new tab. (Not that there is any reason or need to do so, but it's something I noticed.)

Everything appears to work OK in Internet Explorer.

The full version of the tutorial was exported to Flash 6, I think. The test was exported to Flash 8, just to see if that was the source of the problem. (It's not.)

When I opened the exported htm file in Dreamweaver, I got a message about needing to convert something (the OBJECT tags or something) and said yes to it, so the htm code is not the same as that which was exported from Captivate. (I mention this in case that's the source of the problem.)

Tonight I'll try the tutorial with a different skin. Perhaps that's the source of the problem.

Anyway, anyone have any ideas why the Exit button doesn't work in Firefox? The fact the some of the GUI is disabled in this manner (including the Control/Command Tab not working), will be disconcerting to users, I'm afraid. (When I first tested the full project online using Firefox on the Mac, there seemed to be other keyboard shortcuts that stopped working.)

Thanks in advance.

Sincerely,

David Gillaspey
        • 1. Re: SWF in Firefox
          Paul_D Level 1
          David,