8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 10, 2015 8:46 PM by A.T. Romano

Getting Organizer past the Video thumbnail barrier?

The Old Fart Level 1

I imported a file today that had both jpegs as well as videos.  The jpegs imported OK but the video didn't because it says that I've got the correct necessary codec installed.  I have been editing various video files for a great many years & have most of the important codex's already installed.  I don't have Premiere installed but its hard to imagine that there isn't some way around this obstacle other than having to install an unwanted program.  How is it done?  I'm using PSE 11.

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Getting Organizer past the Video thumbnail barrier?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Premiere Elements does install some codecs, but many codecs also install when you install Quicktime Player (free) from Apple, which every video editor should have.

Meantime, it might help if you could identify this mystery codec. Open a sample of your video in G Spot or Media Info and post the name of the video and audio codecs it displays. For good measure, note the resolution and frame rate too.

I'm not sure what you plan to do with this video if you don't have a video editor. But if your only concern is to display the video in the Organizer, that's likely possible -- but we'll have to know the codec first.

• 2. Re: Getting Organizer past the Video thumbnail barrier?
            A.T. Romano Level 7

TOF

The Elements Organizer for the different versions each has its own issues when it comes to:

what will import into it

how its thumbnail will display

how it will play back of it from its thumbnail in the Elements Organizer player

It is difficult to use the missing codec concept to explain this. If you have several Elements Organizers representing different versions on the same computer, one will play back a file imported into it while another will not play back the same file.