9 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2015 10:55 AM by Rick Gerard

Exceedingly Long Render Time

tarab19578531

Hi there.  I'm very new to after effects and am trying to render a slideshow template I purchased from FluxVfx called 100 photos slideshow.  I talked to their support and they told me it should take approximately 1-2 hours to render the project.  However, on my first try, I waited 7 hours and only got 1 minute of the 2 1/2 minute slideshow from it in quicktime. 

I am running after effects 2015

on a 4G macbook air with 1.7 Ghz Intel Core i5 and 120.11 GB free memory.

I originally cleared the cache by going to preferences > media & disks > empty disk cache.

Render settings: best settings; quicktime (video codec H.264 @ 75% quality)

I reached out to the company I purchased the template from and they told me to clear the cache by going to edit > purge > all memory & disk cache.  When I did this, my estimated render times went from 24 hours to 117 hours.  I suspect that there is a setting amiss somewhere in the program or on the computer, but I am new to this program and unfamiliar with what it would be.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  I am doing this for a wedding on Saturday, and I really need to figure this out soon!

Thanks in advance for the tips. 

• 1. Re: Exceedingly Long Render Time
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

These are CC 2015 issues. Uninstall it an instal CC 2014.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Exceedingly Long Render Time
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

My first thought is that your images are bigger than their need to be.  Everyone of your images should be at or near 100% scale at some point in the project. If the layers are 3-D then the distance between camera and the image should be equal to zoom value.

The other thing that could cause extremely long render times would be having the ray-traced rendering engine turned on.

• 3. Re: Exceedingly Long Render Time
              tarab19578531 Level 1