5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 11, 2015 9:23 AM by Rick Gerard

Creating cinemagraphs

southwestform Level 1

I'd like to make some cinema graphs, similar to what can be seen here Cinemagraph: 28 Still Photos With Subtle Motion - Hongkiat

I am very new to AE.

1. Is this something that might be considered easy or difficult to do in CS 2015?

2. Can anyone point me in the direction of how I can get started doing it?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Creating cinemagraphs
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

What is easy? What is difficult? Vague terms get you nowhere. As a beginner, many things will be difficult. The rest is not really relevant. The specifics will depend on the sources used and can involve any number of steps and tools. In most cases you'll spend a good deal of time in Photoshop, anyway, to cut out the elements and patch up backgrounds before you can even think about how to arrange and animate them in AE.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Creating cinemagraphs
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Start here: Basic Workflow

Learn about masking by typing masking in the Search Help field at the top right corner of AE and follow the links.

Learn about Time Remapping or freezing a frame.

The procedure:

1. Shoot your shot with a locked off camera so there is no camera motion at all
            2. If there is any camera motion you will have to stabilize the shot and then crop it
            3. Duplicate the footage layer
            4. Freeze the bottom layer by enabling time remapping, then picking a spot in the shot where you are going to freeze the action
            5. Mask the top copy of the shot so that you only reveal the part of the shot you want to repeat
            6. Enable time remapping on the top layer and then careful go through the shot to find a good in and out point for a loop where the first and last frames are as identical as you can make them
            7. Set keyframes for time remapping at the in and out point of the loop