6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2015 2:30 PM by Stephen_A_Marsh

separate color and grayscale pages

calebp32525708 Level 1

Hi Folks:

I'm somewhat new to InDesign. I'm not doing document design where I work (yet), just some prepress work.

Many of our publications have color covers and internal greyscale pages. I recently ran into an issue where we were printing PDFs created out of Indesign to an internal Konica Minolta printer. Each page was costing a color click, rather than just having (2) color click charges, and the rest be B&W click charges.

So when looking at the source Indesign files, our internal pages appeared visually to be all greyscale. Yet if you view the output separation (SEPS), turn off black (K), and many of the internal pages still had visible objects, while appearing grey, were really made of CYMK.

So this begs the question:

Is it possible in Indesign to designate a page as "color" while another is set for "grayscale"?

if not, when you place an object that appears gray on a page/layer, how would you advise making sure it's placed truly as a grayscale object, not a CMYK object?

• 1. Re: separate color and grayscale pages
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

There are a number of possibilities for why this is happening.

First, are these objects REALLY grayscale? Make sure the color mode is grayscale and not RGB or CMYK on images and they just look gray.

Second, is the PDF destination profile the same as the CMYK working space in the document? If there is a conversion during export, your K-only blacks and grays will get converted to 4-color mixes.

Third, if you include any printer's marks in the export, those will be Registration color and generate a color click.

• 2. Re: separate color and grayscale pages
            Migintosh Level 4

You can also go to Window>Output and select the Separations Preview. There, you can turn off the black channel and see if any of your black-only objects still appear on the page.