7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2015 5:20 PM by Ned Murphy

Controller Help

ryang77587813

Hello, I am pretty new to flash but I have a project I want to accomplish and I thought that flash might be a good tool to make it happen. So below is the control panel.  What I'm looking to do is when the arrow buttons are pressed I can navigate the menu on the LCD screen. Any articles advice or tutorials you could throw my way would be helpful. 

Thanks

Control Panel.png

• 1. Re: Controller Help
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Assuming you mean you wish to create a mockup of the display you show rather than actually controlling the device, the simplest approach I can think of for this would be to have the screen that you wish to scroll as a movieclip that sits behind a mask that is the size of the scrolling area.  Use the arrow buttons to step-adjust the y property of that movieclip to move one line height of distance up or down, keeping track of the ends so that you do not scroll beyond the top or bottom.

• 2. Re: Controller Help
            ryang77587813 Level 1

Thank you for the reply. That is exactly what I am trying to do! Could you recommend any resources that could guide me in the right direction?  It's a pretty extensive menu so I would need to be able to select a menu item and it switch to a set of submenu items.

Thanks again!

• 3. Re: Controller Help

Something like this might have a tutorial somewhere but if there is I do not know where to find it.  If I need to find anything I usually hunt it down on Google.