3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2015 1:32 PM by Rick Gerard

How to use AE to generate a matte to use in Premiere?

JMDlugosz Level 1

I've never used AE before, and in fact am installing it now.  In Premiere tutorials (e.g. Lynda.com) I've seen a clip sent to AE to generate a separate fg/bg layers for separate color correction, using the Roto Brush.

I'm interested in using the roto brush in AE to create a matte.  I'll complete the work in Premiere, so rather than learning how to do the entire project in AE, I wonder, once I create the selection using the roto brush, how can I use the result of that as a separate result?  Either (1) transform the original clips to make the selected region transparent, assuming this can be done as a dynamic-link effect and not need to render a huge new video file; or (2) make a new black-on-white traditional mask video that I can use with the traveling matte effect in Premiere.

If something completely different is advisable, I'd like to know.  If I'm on the right track, can I get some quick pointers on how to "do that" to the region once the region is created?

• 1. Re: How to use AE to generate a matte to use in Premiere?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

AE is best suited for creating visual effects shots or short sequences, editing is best suited to Premiere Pro. If you want to use Rotobrush to create a matte it will probably better if you do the compositing in AE. To find resources that will help you with the tasks just type Rotobrush into the Search Help field at the top right corner of AE and follow the links. You'll need some training to use rotobrush. Once you have a clean roto you  can just build up your layers in AE and then render the result to a production format (not MPEG) or an image sequence and import that into PPro and edit the shot into your sequence.