4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 16, 2015 8:36 AM by Derek Cross

page numbering: a mess when exporting Indesign Epub to Kindle .mobi (I'm new to Indesign)

7guavas Level 1

Hey all,

First, sorry if I'm being annoying with this subject. I'm totally new to Indesign and I might be missing various steps regarding page numbering.

I am exporting an ebook (you're usual reflowable read) to Epub in Indesign (a book I've created, from a word document). The process carries out perfectly, I then use the Kindle Previewer to convert to Kindle's native .mobi format. things still process perfectly, but for 1 thing:

I have an 81 "spread" document in Indesign, which results in a 135 "page" reflowable Epub document (when opened in Adobe Digital Editions), which I think is as expected as I've configured the Epub's chapter to start on a new page each.

The problem rises when I convert that document to .mobi in Kindle's previewer app. I end up with a 1992 "locations" e-book!!

There's apparently no "logic" in the increments that are assigned when converting (you cannot determine if it just converts increments by 10, example: page 1 is 1, then page 2 is numbered 10...) it just seems a chaotic, random "page" / "location" number generation.

As I've said I'm totally new to all of this (Indesing, E-publishing, etc...) I've surfed courses, tutorials and anything related on the net, but of course I'm in a rusha and cannot pretend to learn and assimilate everything Indesign and E-publishing in such short times, so any help would be hugely appreciated!

Have a great day and thank you all in advance!

• 1. Re: page numbering: a mess when exporting Indesign Epub to Kindle .mobi (I'm new to Indesign)
          7guavas Level 1

I am now thinking "out of the box" (my very newbie limited box) and checking rather in Amazon's Publishing help, guides and documentation, and found this:

"3.1.8 Text Guideline #8: