5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2009 8:46 PM by Lehaleha

User initiated actions model and async calls. Again

Lehaleha
      Hi guys,

I'm new at AS/Flex, so maybe I just don't get a point. I will be happy if so. Feel free to say: "hey, you are stupid, do this in a such way: <bla-bla>" ;))

But now I'm really confused. Here is the reason: I know that:

1) AS/Flex is asynchronous, event-driven platform. It has no methods similar to "sleep(timeout)" and (as said everywhere across the web) it is bad idea try to emulate "sleep()" via loops or any other hacks. One should forget about "launch -> sleep-till-job-ready ->continue" model and just subscribe to COMPLETE event. Its OK.

2) "User initiated action" security concept is also seems reasonable. Any action should be permitted by explicit 'click/press/drag" event. OK.

But when you sum 1) and 2) you get into a big trouble. Even if you have a button "Do job and send result" - you will be unable to execute method from UIA-restricted API if you have any async processing in execution path. Because event is fired from another internal thread and there is no "user-initiated-action" in stack! But even "Loader.loadBytes" is async! I cannot load image during "doing job", however I always thought that it is a sort of basic operation in any RIA.

Am I right, that the only way to avoid SecurityError is to have 2 buttons - "Do job" and "Send results"?

If it is so, its bad... In my case it is absolutely meaningless for user. He/she already set all params, confimed changes and I even have nothing to show after "Doing job". Except maybe dummy message "John, and now you should press "Send" button"... :(

Maybe there is some way to pass some sort of "permission ticket" via events?
      I lost two days, but still don't believe that such obvious task cannot be done with such powerfull product.
        • 1. Re: User initiated actions model and async calls. Again
          JeffryHouser Level 4

I don't understand.