3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2009 2:59 PM by Jeff Swartz

Using Socket class

released87 Level 1
      Hi,

I am new to sockets and I am unsure whether I can use the socket class to accomplish a specific task. Basically I need to create an FTP installer for a Website. I basically need to copy local files to a directory on a remote server without using PHP, at least until I can transfer a PHP file.

I am creating a Website installer, so a customer can download the .AIR file to their computer, enter their domain name, username and password and connect to the host. From there I need to just upload a PHP page that will contain the script I need to use HTTPService from AIR to transfer the rest of the files. However, I do not want the customer to have to upload the PHP file first before running the Installer.

So my question is it possible to 1) Connect to a remote host with username/password/port/domain 2) Upload 1 file, with the Flash Socket class? Am I on the right path?

Jesse
        • 1. Re: Using Socket class
          Jeff Swartz Level 3
          Yes, you can connect to an FTP server using the Socket class:

var socket:Socket = new Socket("localhost", 21);
          socket.addEventListener(ProgressEvent.SOCKET_DATA, socketProgress);

I was able to use the ActionScript code posted on this blog to *connect* to an FTP server:

http://actionscript3.blogs2k.com/2008/08/05/ActionScript%203%20-%20simple-uploading-via-so cket-ftp%20-AS3

However, my FTP server complained when I tried to establish a passive (PASV) FTP connection ("Can't open passive connection: Address family not supported by protocol family.") I am not familiar enough with FTP commands to figure out how to upload data.
          • 2. Re: Using Socket class
            released87 Level 1
            thanks this definately helps, I was able to do everything except upload the file, but I probably just need to mess with it a little more...