6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2016 3:49 AM by Peter Spier

Document Size Library On New?

rickg76305781

Is it possible to create a  document size library that could be acessed on file>new>document?? or does it only allow for individual saved sizes??

My group deals with multiple publications with varying column widths. Our current design software allows the user to save multiple sizes in "sets" for a given publication.

(see below) the user selects set and then col. size and (in this example) enter a custom depth.

i understand that i could create a  1 col. document, 2 col. doc, 3 col. doc, etc etc etc ...saving them as template documents for specific pub...but IMO that isn't practical (too may pubs, too many sizes)

it would be nice if there a way to create sets indesign and call them out on new without have to access a live template doc....

does this all ready exist?? can it be scripted?? is there a process that works?? i am very very new to Indesign so any help would be appreciated

thank you R

Untitled.jpg

• 1. Re: Document Size Library On New?
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

There is no concept of sets like this in the document presets, but you might get what you are after by using Templates (.indt files) instead.  You could set up folders with multiple versions for each size, or a single file with different master pages for each configuration.

A side benefit of templates is that in addition to the page size, margin and columns info stored in the preset you can include multiple master pages, all of the predefined styles and swatches for your typical use of that template, and static information that should always be included in documents made from that template. Templates are a lot more powerful than just a document size preset.

• 2. Re: Document Size Library On New?
            BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional