6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2015 6:24 AM by Szalam

Ultra slow rendering + export times

curiouscat951 Level 1

Hi guys,

I'm totally new to AE CC, so please pardon me if this isn't really an issue.

Let's start with my specs:

i5 2500k @ 4.8ghz

16gb RAM

512Gb SSD

GTX660Ti, 2Gb

I tried previewing a videohive title opener clip in AE, and it was struggling so bad - takes about 1 minute to render 10s of footage in RAM. This is with the fact that I allocated the max amount (13gb) to AE and AE has only used 6gb of it. Preview Favors has been checked/unchecked but performance does not improve.

As for exporting, it took me 7 minutes to render just 17s of footage, in 1080p, 24fps. Is it normal or not?

Otherwise, what are the settings I need to make in order to preview full-time and export at a faster rate?

Lastly, the output was 12gbs for 17s. This is just insane. I'm probably doing something wrong here, would need your kind advice please!

• 1. Re: Ultra slow rendering + export times
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You seem to be running into a few of the usual new user "gotchas"!

The large file size is to be expected if you are exporting a lossless file. See this page: FAQ: Why is my output file huge, and why doesn't it play back smoothly?

As to the render speed, your situation is not normal. Your machine is rendering really, really fast. The very opposite of slow!

How long something takes to render depends on the content of the composition (and, to a much lesser extent, your render settings). Templates can be extremely complicated. I mean, people are not likely to buy something simple they could make themselves in five minutes! The problem is, to make things easily editable, the already complex project becomes much more complex. This may or may not lead to extremely long render times.