15 Replies Latest reply on Dec 1, 2015 1:11 PM by Szalam

Slow audio playback in preview

ironchef_marc Level 1

I`m working on a project with audio and the music plays back choppy. I tried various settings in the audio hardware and output as well as big and small buffer but did not change anything.

Is that normal? I am new to AE and starting to learn it (audio guy here)

I have a USB audio interface which should help playing back faster.

PS once I rendered the movie, all is fine but I would like to cut to music and playing back choppy and slow makes it hard to see what I am doing.

thanks

MB

• 1. Re: Slow audio playback in preview
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What version of AE are you using?

What OS are you using?

AE CS6-CC 2014 has had some issues on the newer Mac OS's with audio playback.

AE CC 2015 has had some preview issues in general on all OS's.

How are you trying to preview the audio?

What are your system specs?

If you're new to AE, I would highly recommend that you start here: Getting started with After Effects

• 2. Re: Slow audio playback in preview
            ironchef_marc Level 1

Using the latest.

Win 10, i5 3.2 Ghz

16GB of RAM

When I press "." audio plays fine. When I try to view with animation (and I'm talking even an empty composition) the music plays slower at a lower pitch,

I contacted support was told AE is not audio software and hearing stuttering is normal !!?? Yet I see tutorials online playback back animation with music sounding perfectly fine. Some of them of 3-4 years old too. What gives?

• 3. Re: Slow audio playback in preview

Usually when audio is playing back at a lower pitch, something is awry in the audio settings in AE or something is up with the audio file. Could you share a screenshot of your audio preferences and tell us the specs of your audio file?