3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 28, 2015 8:29 AM by RoninEdits

DIY 6700k or Precision E5 E5-2623 v3?

Artuero

Thanks to some black Friday deals, I have a choice to make between building a Skylake 6700k system or buying a refurb Dell Precision 7810 tower with a Xeon E5-2623 v3. Both will end up costing in the $2100-$2300 range. I am planning to outfit both with an Intel 750 series PCI SSD (or I may downgrade that to a normal SSD, we'll see) and a lower priced SSD, plus a storage HDD or two (3-4 drives total plus archive to NAS). I would add a GeForce GTX 960 4 GB card and something like 32-64 GB RAM to both as well. I am a hobbyist, Premiere CS6 tends to be what stresses my current system the most (a Precision 5400 with a Xeon (X5450 @ 3 GHz) but I also work in lightroom, photoshop, after effects and some music/audio work). I shoot/edit in AVCHD and have no immediate plans for 4k. I would move from CS6 to CC if performance changes justify it-- I am not currently feeling the need to do so based on features as I don't do a ton of effects or multicam work. I mostly desire responsiveness while editing-- I render to final output only infrequently so not a huge deal.

I would like to hear people's opinions on the pros and cons of either going with Skylake or the Xeon system. I am guessing that on a standalone basis the Skylake is the better choice, but I think the Precision may be more expandable (I can add a second Xeon and more memory when prices are lower and apps start using more cores better), and all things being equal more stable with ECC RAM and the precision testing (though I recognize I am adding a bunch of non-specified parts so it will be less than bulletproof). Oh I could chose an E5-2620 (6 core but slower GHz) instead. Any experiences with both would be welcome. I had assumed when I started planning that the Xeon would lose out on a bang for the buck basis, but it just so happens they have a relatively close price.

Thanks for reading and for your opinions.