1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 30, 2015 7:33 AM by Szalam

difference between former rendering (preview window) and just playing a composition from the Preview window

marciam7639840

Hello,

I am rather new to After Effects. I practised with the program on the computer of a friend. She uses an older version, version 12.2.1.5.

I now downloaded a trial version of After Effects 2015 and immediately noticed that the 'render button' has disappeared from the Preview window. I went searching for info and discovered that this function has drastically changed in AE 2015. I still have to study these changes.

My question right now about the preview panel (old vs new version), what exactly is the technical difference between (the older versions') rendering a composition with the ram preview button (that has now disappeared in the 2015 version) and simply playing your composition by using the play button in the preview panel? The play button is still there in the 2015 vs, but there must be a difference.

Thanks,

Marcia

• 1. Re: difference between former rendering (preview window) and just playing a composition from the Preview window
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There were two different ways to preview compositions before (play button and RAM preview button which could also be invoked with spacebar and 0 on the number pad respectively).

Play button (or spacebar) would simply start trying to play the composition. Since AE is not a realtime video editor, this would be a slow playback as it rendered frames. If you happened to have the "green line" above a frame (indicating that it had previously rendered that frame), it would play back in real time though.

Pressing the RAM preview button (or 0 on the number pad) would begin rendering frames which would then play back, in real time once the rendering had finished.