8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2009 9:20 PM by jn2photo

Rollover Button + Drop-down menu = I need HELP!

jn2photo
      Hello,
      I'm fairly new to this whole Flash thing, but i seem to be doing really well so far. I have created a website that is in functional, working order - all of my buttons, actions, links, etc. are working, (which i'm quite proud of), but i'm now at a loss. I'm trying to create a rollover button/dropdown menu effect for two of my galleries, and although i've successfully created the pop-up effect of the menu by utilizing the "Over" and "Down" states inside of the button itself, when i render out the file and test it, the drop-down text flickers. Placing the mouse over the original button, everything seems to work fine, but as soon as i move the pointer down over the pop-up/drop-down text, it flickers! i've tried creating this is separate layers, i've tried increasing my Hit state, i've even tried a stop action, but nothing works, and i'm out of ideas. Help!?
        • 1. Re: Rollover Button + Drop-down menu = I need HELP!
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          Do your drop down buttons also include the command to hold things open and are there no gaps between them?
          • 2. Re: Rollover Button + Drop-down menu = I need HELP!
            jn2photo Level 1
            Hi Ned,
            I honestly don't think i know how to include the command to hold them open, or what that code is, so i'm assuming the code isn't there. I capable of very limited coding, mostly altering my actions according to prewritten that was provided for me in the class i audited. As i said, i'm VERY green when it comes to Flash, and i'm amazed i've gotten this far as it is!
            I greatly appreciate any help you can offer.
            Jessica
            • 3. Re: Rollover Button + Drop-down menu = I need HELP!