4 Replies Latest reply on May 13, 2006 12:08 AM by mr. figgles

Sounds like a no brainer...

mr. figgles
      So I have developed several stand alone flash games and I am not a newbie. My question is does anyone know exactly how gotoAndStop(); works?

What I mean is, does the playhead litereally "skip" to the specified frame _root.gotoAndStop(200); or does it stop and chat with other frames along the way?

The reason I ask is I have a game here with 100 levels and the first 30 or so levels load pretty quick from my level select screen, however, each level there after starts to take longer and longer to load. By the time you are trying to press the level 100 button the game literally takes 30 seconds to load.

I must add, this game isn't played in a browser, so Im not worried about the bandwidth issues. Any help or insight would be great. thanks!
        • 1. Re: Sounds like a no brainer...
          Level 7
          mr. figgles,

> My question is does anyone know exactly how gotoAndStop();
          > works? What I mean is, does the playhead litereally "skip" to
          > the specified frame _root.gotoAndStop(200); or does it stop and
          > chat with other frames along the way?

There's a difference between the global gotoAndStop() function and the
          MovieClip.gotoAndStop() method, but neither of those "chats" with other
          frames; both send the playhead directly to the specified frame (or frame
          label) of a given timeline.

David
          stiller (at) quip (dot) net
          Dev essays: http://www.quip.net/blog/
          "Luck is the residue of good design."

• 2. Re: Sounds like a no brainer...
            Varun.S.Nair