6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2015 1:06 AM by Laubender

removing tags from a document

inflame_media Level 1

Our translator contacetd us, saying when our files are opened in their translation software there are tags shown both them and us do not know and do not use.

How do I remove these tags? I can't see any in ID.

picture:

- tags showing up in translation software

- original indesign document

Mail-Anhang.png

Regards

• 1. Re: removing tags from a document
          Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

View > Structure > Hide Tag Markers should show/hide them in InDesign. View > Structure > Show Structure shows where the tags are located.

I'm not an expert on working with them but here are a couple of Help topics:

InDesign Help | Tagging content for XML

Working with markers

• 2. Re: removing tags from a document
            Chad Chelius Adobe Community Professional

These look like XML tags that are applied to the text in the InDesign document. As Steve has pointed out above, you can hide them by hiding the Tag Markers. If you want to get rid of them, you can choose View > Structure > Show Structure. This will show you all of the XML tags in the document. If you truly don't need them or they're causing a problem and you want to get rid of them, you can click on the root tag (the top most tag in the Structure panel) and choose Untag Element from the panel menu. You may need to repeat this step until all of the tags have been removed and if need be you can select multiple tags at once by shift + clicking, then choose Untag Element.

• 3. Re: removing tags from a document
              inflame_media Level 1

Your help is vermy much appreciated, thanks for the replies.

From what I've googled I also assumed it has something to do with XML Tags.

But somehow there is nothing showing up in the Structure Panel.

root.jpg

Whenever text is formatted, i.e. bold, a tag seems to get added invisibly.