10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 6, 2015 5:22 AM by Keith_Reeder

Sharpening

Walrus

Should you remove noise before sharpening?

• 1. Re: Sharpening
          Keith_Reeder Level 4

You'll get people sayng both "yes" and "no" to this - best to work out what works best for your own shooting style and subject matter (this last matters a lot).

FWIW, I'm a wildlife and sport photographer (often in properly crappy light), and I sharpen first, NR afterwards.

• 2. Re: Sharpening
            Per Berntsen Adobe Community Professional

It doesn't really matter in which order you do it - the end result will be the same.

But it's a good idea to sharpen first, and use the masking feature to prevent sharpening being applied to flat areas.

Noise will be most visible in flat areas, and will be even more pronounced when sharpened.

Hold down Alt/Option while dragging the slider, the black areas will be protected, and white areas will be sharpened.

Once the image has been sharpened, apply the noise reducion. Use the Detail slider to protect details in the image.

Always evaluate sharpening and noise reduction at 1:1 view - any other view will be misleading and incorrect.

• 3. Re: Sharpening
              ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

In LR, it really does not matter what order you do things in because you have no control over the order that LR is going to do the actions in when it plays back the edit commands.

• 4. Re: Sharpening
                Walrus Level 1

Hi.

Thanks for all your replys, you can see why I asked the question, it would seem you pay your money and take your choice!!

Ron.

• 5. Re: Sharpening

Masking is probably the most overlooked feature in the Detail panel, and I suspect that a lot of people never use it.

It is tremendously helpful when sharpening noisy images, and I use it with low ISO images as well.

Even the slightest amount of noise will be increased by sharpening, and Masking does a great job preventing that.