3 Replies Latest reply: Nov 21, 2006 1:53 AM by Newsgroup_User RSS

Last_Insert_ID()

Anhialator
      I have this exact situation, but with no PHP MySQL code to read so I can figure out what to do (how to write the code for these 3 tables). I'm a beginner, self-taught, and I've been working on this for months, with no success. I've purchased and read (and worked through) PHP for Dreamweaver 8 by Dave Powers, but this isn't covered in there:

CREATE TABLE students (
      student_id INT(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY,
      firstname VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
      lastname VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
      sex ENUM('M','F') NOT NULL DEFAULT 'M',
      dob DATE NOT NULL DEFAULT '0000-00-00'
      );

CREATE TABLE classes (
      class_id INT(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY,
      instructor_id INT(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
      name VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
      hours INT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0'
      );

CREATE TABLE students_classes (
      student_id INT(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
      class_id INT(11) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0',
      semester ENUM('FALL','SPRING','SUMMER') NOT NULL DEFAULT 'FALL',
      year INT(4) NOT NULL DEFAULT '2005',
      grade INT(1) DEFAULT NULL,
      PRIMARY KEY (student_id,class_id,semester,year)
      );

My thinking might be illogical since I don't understand how (students_classes.student_id) receives its value from |students|, while maintaining a NOT NULL value in (students_classes.class_id). How does a value from a field in |students| or |classes| get into |students_classes| without violating the NOT NULL conditions of one of its fields?

Please, help me with this. I'm sinking deeper into agoraphobia over this. :)

Thank you for your consideration.

• 1. Re: Last_Insert_ID()
          Newsgroup_User Community Member
          Anhialator wrote:
          > How does a value
          > from a field in |students| or |classes| get into |students_classes| without