11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2015 4:24 PM by tish1776

Make a square into a rectangle

tish1776

Hi!

Beginner here. I'm trying to animate a square so that it stretches to the right into a rectangle while maintaining the stroke of the shape. If I scale by increasing the x-axis, it throws off the stroke completely. If I resize it, then it maintains the stroke, but resizes by stretching out both the left and right sides of the square simultaneously, and I just want one side of the square to seemingly stretch to the right into a rectangle. Is there a simple way to do this? Thanks! 

• 1. Re: Make a square into a rectangle
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You will want to use a shape layer and animate the size of the rectangle instead of using scale. Scale effects all properties, the size of a shape layer does not change the width of the stroke.

• 2. Re: Make a square into a rectangle
            tish1776 Level 1

Hi,

Yes, but is there away to do that so that the square only elongates from one side? By going and resizing, both sides of the square elongates together. I'm trying animate a square such that one side of the square stretches out into a rectangle. Thank you!

• 3. Re: Make a square into a rectangle
              Gutter-Fish Level 4

I don't know of way to do it with a shape but you could use solid with a mask and a stroke effect than just animate the mask path.    I've heard a few pro's say that they prefer to work with masked solids rather than shapes whenever they can as you just have alot more control..

• 4. Re: Make a square into a rectangle
                tish1776 Level 1