11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2009 6:06 AM by Newsgroup_User

ItemRenderer aware of its selection state?

Dimerman
      Hello,
      I am new to Flex, and try to learn it by comparing it to Java's Swing.
      With Swing, when you define a renderer, the interface is such that it not only gives you the value of the object to render but its index and selection state as well (boolean).
      I could not find a way to do this in Flex (my original intention was to do a TileList where the items are rendered as images with labels, and those which are selected are displayed in color whereas those deselected are displayed as blurred black&white).
      Using the debugger I know that the List holds arrays of indexes and objects selected, so I think it's a waste to create my own List and manage the objects (children) by myself. I also saw that the set data signature only includes the value to be rendered and nothing else... not even its index.

Please, any ideas?
      many thanks,
      Dan
        • 1. Re: ItemRenderer aware of its selection state?
          JeffryHouser Level 4
          I don't know anything about Swing, so can't compare it to the Flex Framework, but..

You can use the selectedIndex property to find the index of the selected item. If your list allows for multiple selections, I believe there is a selectedIndices property or something similar.

There is a selectedItem property on the list class to get the data that is selected.

The default renderers have a ListData property, which includes a rowIndex. Without testing it, I'm unsure if rowIndex is the index of the data in the dataProvider or the index of the renderer.

The list based classes use renderer recycling so in most cases you will have significantly fewer renderers than data. As you scroll through the list the data changes, but you're still showing the same renderers.
          • 2. Re: ItemRenderer aware of its selection state?
            Dimerman Level 1
            Hi Jeff,