1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 10, 2015 2:47 AM by diabeatles

Light layers make everything go black

diabeatles

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to AE so please bear with me on this problem. When I have a 3D comp going on and add a light layer, it makes everything go black. If I put the light down really close to one surface you can see a tiny bit of light coming through, but it's like it can only make a super dim light. I have all my settings correct, 100% intensity, my fallout radius is at 500, every layer has it's 3D box checked, I'm not in 3d draft mode. Here's a picture of what's going on with just a simple single 3D layer with a light:

Screen Shot 2015-12-10 at 4.46.00 AM.png

• 1. Re: Light layers make everything go black
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There are a lot of things you have to consider with you work with lights in 3D space. When you are having problems a screenshot that does not show all of the properties of all of the layers giving you problems is not much help. It looks like you have set the comp background to grey which does not gain you anything in the final render and may cause problems if you render with alpha channels, and  your comp has one light, one layer, the view is set to Custom View 1, the magnification ratio for the Composition panel is 100% and the rendering for the comp panel is set to Full (Auto is the best choice 99.9% of the time), and Fast Previews is NOT set to Draft because the icon is not blue. The custom view you have chosen will not show 2D layers and most importantly, WILL NOT RENDER except for previews is really only useful to line up your set pieces in 3D space. By set pieces I mean the layers, the camera and the lights.