6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2015 4:54 AM by rob day

Converting All Files At Once

stevek87926187

I am new to Creative Cloud, but not Adobe Indesign.  Normally when I would update a software suite all of the files associated with a particular program would automatically be assiciated with the newly loaded software version.  I have noticed that all of my "Indesign" files still have the CS4 icon, when I open a file and print it out, I am asked if I want to save it as a IDCC file.  It then makes me choose where to place the file and asks me if I want to get rid of the old file or keep both versions.  I understand that I could store the files on my hard drive or in my cloud account. 

My question is, is there a way to automatically convert all CS4 Indesign files over to IDCC files so I don't have to go through the manual process of placing the newly converted file into the correct folder each and every time I open a file (for the first time in IDCC)?  I want to keep all of my files on my local network for now and feel like I am missing something simple  Thanks you.

Steve

• 1. Re: Converting All Files At Once
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Short answer: No.

Longer answer: InDesign has always behaved this way. Opening a file created in an earlier version effectively creates a new file. Saving it actually launches the save as dialog and defaults to the last folder you used for a save as.

• 2. Re: Converting All Files At Once
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

You'd actually be well advised to NOT overwrite or delete the old versions. It's not that uncommon for converted files (especially when the originals are many versions older than the current one) to suddenly experience a fatal error. Backup storage is very cheap compared to the cost of rebuilding a long or complex document from scratch.

• 3. Re: Converting All Files At Once
              stevek87926187 Level 1