10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2009 8:41 AM by rtalton

Measuring time

amvit
      Hi,
      I have developed a simple Flex-Java App using Blaze DS.
      I click a button to populate the datagrid control using Blaze DS.
      I want to measure the time taken for the operation.
      On the Java side, I have already added statements that helps me to measure the no. of seconds to complete Java Service calls. I want to do the same on Flex side.
      How can I do that?
      I am very new to Flex and could not find any class like System in Java that would help me.
      Thanks,
      Amit
        • 1. Re: Measuring time
          rtalton Level 4
          Start a timer when you send for the data (on your button click):
          public function onDataRequest():void{
          //Data request goes here.
          timer = new Timer(1,0); // one ms., infinite repeat
          timer.start();
          }
          Upon the data's return, stop the timer and get the currentCount property.
          timer.stop()
          timer.currentCount.toString()
          • 2. Re: Measuring time
            amvit Level 1
            Hi,
            Thank you very much for your answer.In fact I looked at the documentation of Timer yesterday but could not figure out way to use this and hence posted the question.
            I did the same but I have an question about it.
            I am actually invoking a Java service which interacts with Stored proc and returns data back to flex data grid using Blaze DS.
            As per the time measurements in my Java service layer it shows me it took 4 seconds to complete the proc. call. While at the same time I get ~1000(ms?) as current count in flex app from the time the service is called and data is returned and populated into an ArrayCollection in ActionScript.
            My question is how come it can be only 1seconds because Java service itself took ~3-4 seconds to complete.