6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2015 12:59 PM by Alex-CL

Can data sets be used/called using either scripts or from a custom plugin?

Alex-CL

I'm working on a project using data sets and I would like to know if I can have a a script or even a plugin that firstly imports data sets and then exports those data sets as files. It seems to me like something that would be possible but I'm yet to find a plugin or script that uses data sets so I thought I'd come and ask.

I'm a web developer and work in photography at the minute so we'll have to commission this if it's possible, so any information on where you can find plugin developers looking for work (UK based ideally) would be very welcome too.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Can data sets be used/called using either scripts or from a custom plugin?
          Silver Back Gorilla Level 1

Specifically, what do you want the Photoshop script to do with the data after it's been imported? I have created many scripts that  import csv file data and that is easy to do. I'm sure other file types would be easy to import as well but I've just always used plain old csv files. 

• 2. Re: Can data sets be used/called using either scripts or from a custom plugin?

This script will open a file dialog to import a csv.  It will then put it into a 2 dimensional array.

var csvFile = File.openDialog("Open CSV File","comma-delimited(*.csv):*.csv;"); 

textArray=[];

csvToArray(csvFile,textArray);

function csvToArray(file,array){

var i=0;

file.open('r') ;

while (!file.eof){

array[i]=file.readln().split(',');

i++;

}

file.close();

}

• 3. Re: Can data sets be used/called using either scripts or from a custom plugin?
              Alex-CL Level 1

Hi, and thanks for your reply.

Primarily, I just wanted to know that it can be done but I'll explain what I'm after. It's very basic but will save hours and hours of my time.