11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2016 12:06 PM by Christianhchuk

Acrobat Pro XI Java: Deleting Page is Very Slow

Christianhchuk Level 1

Hi Everyone,

Below is a set of code I got working in Acrobat XI to pull up a popup window that, when the user selects yes, is able to search for a hidden keyword on certain pages in the PDF and then delete the corresponding pages.  This works, but the problem is that it takes almost a minute to process.  I would love someone's input as to what might be slowing the process down.  I am very new to Java so any specific suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance,

Christian

var cMsg = "Continuing with the current action will remove the CHES application and its data.  This operation may take a minute to complete.";

cMsg += "\n\nDo you want to continue?";

var nRtn = app.alert(cMsg,2,2,"Question Alert Box");

if(nRtn == 4)

{// A yes Response

// Code for doing the thing you do on a yes

console.println("The Response Was Yes");

for (var p=this.numPages-1; p>=0; p--) {

for (var n=0; n<this.getPageNumWords(p); n++) {

if (this.getPageNthWord(p, n) == "CHESDELETE") {

this.deletePages(p);

break;

}

}

}

}

else if(nRtn == 3)

{//No Response

console.println("The Response Was No");

}

else  

{ //Unknown Response

console.println("The Response Was somthing other than Yes/No: " + nRtn);

}

• 1. Re: Acrobat Pro XI Java: Deleting Page is Very Slow
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Searching an entire document is a lengthy process, especially if there are a lot of pages and a lot of words on each page.

I don't really see how your code can be improved.

• 2. Re: Acrobat Pro XI Java: Deleting Page is Very Slow
            Christianhchuk Level 1