6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2015 8:17 AM by A.T. Romano

No preset for my project...

Jaronpv

Hey everyone!

Completely new to the adobe premiere app.  Actually, I'm basically new to video editing!  In my reading, I have seen that when starting a new project, it is good to select a preset that represents your video's qualities.  My video is filmed with an aerial drone.  4K video. No audio. 24 frames per second.  I notice there is no preset for this type of video.  I am using Premiere Elements 14.    I appreciate your suggestions on what to do!

• 1. Re: No preset for my project...
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Unless your video is an MOV file, if you are using Premiere Elements or later, the program should automatically set up its project to match your video specs. (In fact, I wouldn't recommend editing 4K on a version prior to version 13.)

The way to you can tell if the program has properly matched your video specs is that, when you add the clip to your timeline, there is NO yellow-orange line along the top of the timeline above your clip. Is that the case in your project?

• 2. Re: No preset for my project...
            A.T. Romano Level 7

Jaronpv

4K can represent 3840 x 2160 or 4090 x 2160. If your 4K = 4090 x 2160, there is no  project preset for that.

In the case of a 4K 4090 x 2160, the Premiere Elements 14 automatic project preset will give you a "closest fit" project present rather what it did in earlier versions, this is, a default 1080i project preset. If you are letting the project set the project preset automatically for you, best to check what it has set after the file has arrived on the Timeline. Please see Edit Menu/Project Settings/General.

Premiere Elements 12/12.1, 13/13.1, and 14/14.1 have 4K 3840 x 2160 project presets and export settings

For setting the project preset manually before you import your 4K, then use the following scheme