3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2015 5:47 AM by rrogertbb

Total newbie confused

rrogertbb Level 1

Hi chaps, forgive me I have never tried to edit a pdf but a good client has sent me file which they need me to alter (I wasn't sure how to add a link but does this work) ?

Dropbox - Saleroom_info_front_2015.pdf

... anyway i don't know where to begin ... eg the outlined 2015 on the front cover ... I've found 'touch up text' and I can highlight the text but get this message :Warning! Since the original font is not available, a substituted font for editing is used.  Any changes to the text of the original font will place a new font dependency upon the document." ... anyway if I overtype the 2015 with 2016 the 'outline' gets left behind and I cannot find a way of losing it .... I also need to change the dates on the middle page of the spread but when I overtype the new text is a totally different size (11 not 15pt) ... I also need to change all of the images .... how do I do that ?

Am I being particularly stupid or is Acrobat not very friendly ? - does anyone know a resource with a brief introduction so I can self-train please ?

Regards roger

• 1. Re: Total newbie confused
          rrogertbb Level 1

BTW I have Adobe Acrobat 8 Pro ... is this the problem (I cannot justify spending on an upgrade) ?

• 2. Re: Total newbie confused
            Test Screen Name Most Valuable Participant

I think the crucial point to understand is that PDFs are really not made for editing, and editing is a desperate last resort. Later versions of Acrobat change stuff, but I doubt much would help. For instance, the 2015 and the shadow behind it were one thing in the design app but are two entirely unconnected things in the PDF.

I observe this was created in Illustrator CS4. It might be editable in Illustrator CS4 or later if the creator was kind enough to set a special flag when saving the file - but as that doubles the file size they probably turned it off.