7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2009 7:53 PM by Newsgroup_User

Custom Component Classes

Hi all

I have been learning flex for a few months now and absolutely loving it!
      But there is one thing I can't get my head round. I use to be a Flash user mostly which is probably why I am getting confused....
      I want to be able to make custom components that all use one custom class.
      For example, I have custom canvas components that are 'pages' which I am loading dynamically as and when needed. When they load I want them to fade in using the fade effect. Up until now I have written the code to do this on each component, which is quite annoying considering I have many pages.
      I would like a custom class with the code in it for the fade which every 'page' component uses, so each will fade in when loaded.
      I could this really easily using MovieClips in flash, but flex seems different. Maybe I am getting confused with regards Canvases and MovieClips.

Please can someone help me? :)

• 1. Re: Custom Component Classes
          Cesare Rocchi Level 2
          You can create a ComponentWrapper which is extended by your class component like this.

public class YourCustomComponent extends ComponentWrapper {

public YourCustomComponent (){}

}

The component wrapper contains a fade method like this.

public class ComponentWrapper {

public ComponentWrapper (){}

public function yourFade() {
          // implement here your fade
          // refer to this.
          }

}

HTH

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Custom Component Classes
            Thanks _funkyboy, but I am a bit confused now
            I don't have an AS class for the custom components yet. I have only created the components as MXML components. I want to be able to link the MXML components to an AS class. I apologize for my lack of knowledge :p
            • 3. Re: Custom Component Classes