3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2015 5:44 AM by A.T. Romano

Output quality Premiere Elements 14

TechCritic

Hi,

I am new to Video editing and just recently got Premiere Elements 14. I played around with it for a weekend now and am very satisfied with ist easy to use capabilities in video editing. However, I think, that I must be missing the perfect Output Settings - or could it be, that Premiere Elements has some limitations? In other words: the Quality of the imported Videos are so much better, then the Output that I am currently a bit frustrated.

SetUp

• I used a "Canon Legria HF S21" camcorder to record some movies with various settings:
        • MXP: 1.920 x 1.080, 24 Mbps;
        • FXP: 1.920 x 1.080, 17 Mbps; (mainly)

The Canon produces MTS-Files, which are displayed in the Premiere Elements Organizer as MPEG with 1920x1080 and 25hz Framerate.

Rendering etc. is done on a fast PC with Windows 10, 16GB RAM and Nvidia 680 GTX.

I tried different Output Settings:

- Adobe Default HD for  PC - 1920x1080 (H.264 + 25 hz Framerate and 32(!) Bitrate) => for 6min, this means 1,5GB

- Adobe Default Online - HD with 1440xx1080 (H.264 + 24 Framerate and 6 Bitrate) => for 6 min, this means 192 MB

Problem:

- Whatever I do the output Video does not look as good as the Input Files or the Premiere Preview  - actually, the output can be pretty bad (artefacts, stuttering, etc.).

- And then I am wondering: I mean 1,5GB for 6 min Videos? How do those film pirates get entire movies in good quality coded? ... 90 min would mean in my expample 22 GB. Would it make a difference if getting a straigt (max Quality) from Premiere Elements and do the "re-encoding" with a differen tool? ... would the results (Quality/size) be any different?

Thanks to anyone, who takes the time for a Response :-)

• 1. Re: Output quality Premiere Elements 14
          A.T. Romano Level 7

TechCritic

Have you updated 14 to 14.1 yet using an opened project's Help Menu/Updates?