15 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2015 7:01 PM by JJMack

How do I include a value for  Anchor / psAnchorPosition   in the Rotate parameter list?

DocH999

Hi,

I'm a beginner to scripting, using Visual Basic.

I'm trying to use the Rotate() method to rotate an artLayer in Photoshop CS6.

.Rotate(14.5) etc seems absolutely fine.

BUT I want to be able to specify the center around which the rotation occurs, which is, I understand, governed by psAnchorPoint.

The syntax for Rotate() is given in the VB Scripting Reference Manual as:

Rotate(Angle  [, Anchor])

My question is, how do I include a value for  Anchor / psAnchorPosition   in the Rotate parameter list? I've tried a lot of variations but none seems to be acceptable. Any thoughts anyone?

• 1. Re: How do I include a value for  Anchor / psAnchorPosition   in the Rotate parameter list?
          JJMack Most Valuable Participant

Most likely a defined constant. Here what a javascript one looks like.  http://www.mouseprints.net/old/dpr/RotateLayerAbout.jsx

from photoshop-cc-vbs-ref.pdf  page 158

PsAnchorPosition 1 (psTopLeft)

2 (psTopCenter)

3 (psTopRight)

4 (psMiddleLeft)

5 (psMiddleCenter)

6 (psMiddleRight)

7 (psBottomLeft)

8 (psBottomCenter)

9 (psBottomRight)

The point on the object that does not

move when the object is rotated or

resized.

• 2. Re: How do I include a value for  Anchor / psAnchorPosition   in the Rotate parameter list?
            c.pfaffenbichler Level 9

You may want to consider switching to JavaScript, there are probably more VB users than AS users but still JavaScript seems to be the most popular language for Photoshop Scripting.

• 3. Re: How do I include a value for  Anchor / psAnchorPosition   in the Rotate parameter list?
              DocH999 Level 1

Hi JJMack and thanks.