10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2016 1:04 PM by Rick Gerard

set white background with black text - preview ok - but only black when linked

williamd59504155

Hi - sorry, I am a complete newbie to AE.  I just got Adobe Creative Cloud the full package and it's the best xmas present ever!

So have used Premiere in the past but never really made any progress with AE... I can see now that it is truly awesome and I seriously need to do some online training videos.  I got started with one showing how to do typewriter text and it worked well - I did it on a black text layer with white text, but I a really looking for a title like the old spy movies with the teletype typing out the titles black courier font on white paper effect.  So I change my background to white and the font to black, and it looks fine in the preview, but when I link it my PP project, it is now all black, seems like the background hasn't really changed to white, even though it looks it in the preview.  I rendered it and I get the same, all black, so I am guess I have done something wrong in AE and not PP.  Again, I would normally try and figure this out myself, but haven't had much luck so could use a push if anyone cares to help.

Thanks

Bill

• 1. Re: set white background with black text - preview ok - but only black when linked
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Without knowing anything about your exact settings, nobody can tell you much. It seems you are simply using an output preset with transparency, but not correctly interpreting the result in premiere. By definition in such situations the AE comp background is treated as transparent, hence you end up with black on black.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: set white background with black text - preview ok - but only black when linked
            dissidently Level 1

You are going to eat your words, and possibly end up reconsidering your relationship with whoever gave you this "present".