8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2016 1:19 PM by dj_paige

lightroom will not import cr2 files

DrBozKnocker

I am trying to import CR2 files into Lightroom and it says that "Some import operations were not performed. The following files were not imported because they could not be read" and then it lists the file name. I saw on the forum where this may be a read/write error, but I'm not sure where to go to change those settings. I'm using an iMac on the most recent OSX, and the most updated CC. I will be the first to admit that I'm not an expert with the product.

• 1. Re: lightroom will not import cr2 files
          dj_paige Level 9

You go to your operating system (Mac Finder) and change the permissions on the folder to READ&WRITE permission. Which folder? The folder specified in the Lightroom import dialog box under Destination.

• 2. Re: lightroom will not import cr2 files
            DrBozKnocker Level 1

It seems as though I may have a more complicated issue here. My external hard drive that I was trying to import everything to will not let me change the settings. It appears to be stuck on read only mode and I'm unable to change it. So this is definitely not a LR issue. When I switched it back to the local HD, the import worked fine. Thanks for the speedy reply!

• 3. Re: lightroom will not import cr2 files
              dj_paige Level 9

Was this a drive that at one point was used on a Windows computer?

• 4. Re: lightroom will not import cr2 files
                DrBozKnocker Level 1

No, I bought it specifically for use on this mac to backup RAW files imported into LR.

• 5. Re: lightroom will not import cr2 files
                  DonShreve

I have this problem, but the permissions to write solution didn't work. I even converted the CR2 files to DNG with the adobe DNG converter, synchronized my folder, and it initially recognizes the files, but upon selecting Import, it gives this same repeating error-