13 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2009 4:13 PM by PeakDigital

Need help with dynamic app controls

PeakDigital Level 1
      I am new to Flex and am trying to apply some of the concepts I have done before in other languages (VB6, PHP) to Flex. My major project right now involves building apps based on lists of controls defined in a database.

I have a simple custom component for a text input consisting of a label and textinput controls (This is my first attempt to attach code to a post on this forum, I hope it works)

The creation of the controls is fine, but I am running into dead ends trying to read back the controls that were created and their values. I have been experimenting with testVBox.getChildAt(i) in a for loop, but it isn't working.

Can someone point me in the right direction on this?

Thank you.
      Paul
        • 1. Re: Need help with dynamic app controls
          Gregory Lafrance Level 6
          Not clear on what is not working. After creating the controls are you trying to write them back to the database and having difficulties? What difficulties are you having, like what errors are you getting?
          • 2. Need help with dynamic app controls
            PeakDigital Level 1
            Yes, that is correct. The controls are being created and populated as I want, but I cannot figure out how to grab all the controls and their values so I can validate and send back to the database.

This is the only error I am getting:
            1119: Access of possibly undefined property strLabelText through a reference with static type flash.display:DisplayObject.

That shows in the IDE for the attached function on the line "strFieldDump = strFieldDump + currControl.strLabelText;"

The function is attached to a button's click event, but no errors occur when I click the button - nothing happens.
            • 3. Re: Need help with dynamic app controls
              Gregory Lafrance Level 6