16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2016 5:00 PM by Jao vdL

Just bought a new iMac for PS & LR but LR performance is terrible!

sound of the atom

Hi all.

I've been using PS and LR now for a few years on my 9 year old PC, but in the last few months things have been getting a little sluggish, so I decided to bite the bullet and buy a new computer. After much deliberation, about 3 weeks ago I bought an iMac 27inch retina 5k with 32gb of RAM. I expected LR and PS to fly on my new machine. Unfortunately they don't. PS isn't too bad, but LR is terrible. It seems to take an age to just start. I get the coloured spinning wheel thingy on the screen for ages quite regularly. Having spent so much on a new computer just to run PS and LR I am more than a little annoyed. LR is actually slower than on my 9 year old pc which only has 6gb of RAM. The computer seems to run perfectly fine for everything else I use it for, although to be fair, I don't really do anything on it apart from from PS and LR. So i'm assuming its a software problem.

Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated!

• 1. Re: Just bought a new iMac for PS & LR but LR performance is terrible!
          Jao vdL Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Are you using the latest LR? 2015.3? 2015.2 was a disaster of beach balling and slowness.

• 2. Re: Just bought a new iMac for PS & LR but LR performance is terrible!
            JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What versions of Photoshop and Lightroom do you have?

• 3. Re: Just bought a new iMac for PS & LR but LR performance is terrible!
              Tanuj Sandal Adobe Employee

Hi sound of the atom,

Please check the following link .

Improve Photoshop Performance : Optimize performance Adobe Photoshop CC

Improve Lightroom Performance : How to improve and speed up Photoshop Lightroom performance

Regards,

Tanuj

• 4. Re: Just bought a new iMac for PS & LR but LR performance is terrible!
                sound of the atom Level 1